• About Us
    • History
    • Vision and Mission
    • Staff
    • Copyright And Permission
  • Visit Us
    • Location and Admission
    • Opening Hours and Holidays
    • Transportation
    • Accessibility
    • Museum Map
    • Guided Tour/Visit
  • Collections
    • Highlights
    • Bronzes
    • Ceramics
    • Paintings
    • Calligraphy and Rubbings
    • Prints and Photographs
    • Sculptures
    • Wood Carvings and Furniture
    • Works of Art
  • Education
    • Research
    • Teaching
  • Exhibitions
    • Current Exhibitions
    • Upcoming Exhibitions
    • Past Exhibitions
  • Events
    • Current Events
    • Past Events
  • Press
    • Media Center
  • Support Us
    • How to Support
    • Volunteers
    • The Hong Kong University Museum Society
    • The Hong Kong University Alumni
  • Shop and Tea Gallery
    • UMAG publications
    • Gifts and Stationery
    • How to order
    • Tea Gallery
Print
EDUCATION
  • RESEARCH
  • TEACHING
TEACHING

The University Museum and Art Gallery (UMAG) is a teaching museum. Museum staff instruct undergraduate students (courses FINE2056, FINE4005, MUSE2001 and MUSE2002) and supervise postgraduate students specialising in art, history and collecting. We contribute to courses taught by other HKU departments, including the Common Core Course, and programmes administered by the Hong Kong Institute of Humanities and Social Sciences, HKU SPACE and the Architectural Conservation Programmes.

FINE2056
6 credits

This course aims to give students an introduction to the principles and practices of working in an art museum. It will be conducted by curatorial staff of the University Museum and Art Gallery. Students majoring in Fine Arts are given first preference, but other students fulfilling the prerequisite may apply. Students wishing to apply for admission to FINE4005 (Fine Arts internship (capstone)) are strongly urged to take this course first, ideally in their third year.

Assessment: 100% coursework.

Prerequisite: One 1000-level Fine Arts course.

FINE4005
6 credits

The internship programme gives a limited number of qualified students practical experience working in a professional setting. This enables them to apply academic skills learned in the classroom to concrete problems in the workplace and helps prepare them for museum or other arts-related careers. Selected interns will work with senior staff of the University Museum and Art Gallery or other art institutions in Hong Kong on a project or projects relating to professional museological or curatorial practice. Admission is selective, based on application and an interview. Students wishing to apply for the internship are strongly encouraged to first take FINE2056 (Museum studies workshop).

Assessment: 100% coursework.

Prerequisite: At least one Fine Arts course at the 3000 level and three other Fine Arts courses at the 1000 or 2000 level.

MUSE2001
6 credits

This course offers an introduction to the foundational aspects of conservation and the preservation of material culture. The history and development of the field of conservation in relation to museums and galleries would be presented, beginning with issues related to preventive conservation and general collections care. Subsequent lectures would focus on individual specialisms, including book and paper; stone, metal and ceramic objects; and paintings. Students benefit equally from theoretical material and practical information provided by established curatorial and conservation professionals. As an integral part of the courses, students would visit conservation laboratories, museums and gallery spaces at HKU and across Hong Kong.

Assessment: 100% coursework

Prerequisite: At least one 1000-level Fine Arts or Global Creative Industries course

MUSE2002
6 credits

This course teaches an introduction to organic and inorganic materials used in art making. Students will learn to combine scientific and humanist approaches to studying artefacts and artmaking processes. Individual lectures will focus on the material composition of works of art, including Chinese ink paintings on paper; metal, ceramic and glass objects; furniture; and lacquer. Students will learn about the history of artworks with an object-based and material-focused methodology. As an integral part of the course, students will handle and analyse objects closely and gain behind-the-scenes access to the conservation laboratory and museum at HKU.

Assessment: 100% coursework

Prerequisite: At least one 1000-level Fine Arts or Global Creative Industries course

Museum staff routinely lecture at HKU and other educational institutions in Hong Kong, and participate in local and international conferences, round-table discussions and workshops.

UMAG organises guided visits and workshops for members of the general public, families and schools, which aim to promote art appreciation and an engagement with theoretical and practical topics related to art and culture. The Museum also trains professional colleagues working in art preservation, administration, shipping and display. The Museum’s community outreach is supported by funds from HKU Museum Society, 12 Knowledge Exchange Grants to date, and was acknowledged by a Knowledge Exchange Award in 2014.

UMAG offers internship and fellowship opportunities to outstanding young scholars in art history and preservation. We encourage collections research and participation in educational programming, and thrive to educate a growing community of museum professionals.

For information about the internship and fellowship programmes, please contact the Museum’s communications officer at elenac@hku.hk or +852 2241 5512. Or if you wish to book a group visit or workshop, please contact the Museum's programme assistant at cchelsea@hku.hk or +852 2241 5509. 

Address: 90 Bonham Road, Pokfulam, Hong Kong View the location on Google Maps
Tel: (852) 2241 5500 Fax: (852) 2546 9659 Email: museum@hku.hk
© 2018 by University Museum and Art Gallery, HKU. All Rights Reserved.

• 基本介紹
    • 歷史
    • 抱負與使命
    • 職員
    • 版權授權
  • 參觀資訊
    • 位置與入場
    • 開放時間與假期
    • 交通指南
    • 可達性設施
    • 博物館地圖
    • 導賞
  • 藏品資源
    • 精選
    • 銅器
    • 陶瓷
    • 繪畫
    • 書法與拓片
    • 版畫與照片
    • 雕刻
    • 木刻傢俱
    • 雜項
  • 教育
    • 研究
    • 教學
  •    展覽   
    • 現今展覽
    • 展覽預告
    • 展覽回顧
  •    活動   
    • 最新活動
    • 昔日活動
  • 新聞訊息
    • 媒體中心
  • 支持捐助
    • 如何捐助
    • 加入義工
    • 香港大學博物館學會
    • 發展及校友事務部
  • 商店與茶座
    • 書籍
    • 文具禮品
    • 如何訂購
    • 博寮茶座
首頁 > 教育 > 教學
列印
教育
  • 研究
  • 教學
教學

香港大學美術博物館(簡稱UMAG)是一個間具有教學性質的博物館。博物館職員負責指導督導本科生(課程編號 FINE2056、FINE4005、MUSE2001與 MUSE2002),並督導指導藝術、歷史與收藏專業的研究生。我們還為包括香港大學共同核心課程在內的其他香港大學院系課程,以及包括由香港人文社會研究所、香港大學專業進修學院與建築保護育計劃課程等所策劃開展的項目貢獻力量。

FINE2056
學分:6

此課程由香港大學美術博物館的策展職員教授,旨在介紹美術博物館工作的理論與實踐。主修藝術學系之學生將獲優先考慮,其他合資格的學生亦歡迎報讀。建議欲報讀FINE4005 (藝術實習(總結科目)) 的學生於第三學年修讀此課程。

評估:100% 課程作業

先修科目:一個1000級的藝術學系課程

FINE4005
學分:6

此實習課程為少數合資格學生提供一個於專業環境實習的機會。學生可將課堂上學習到的知識應用於實習中,為將來於博物館或與藝術相關行業的就業發展奠定基礎。獲選的實習生將在香港大學美術博物館高級職員的指導下工作,或參與本港其他藝術機構的專業博物館學或策展項目。 申請者將據其申請及面試表現而獲取錄。建議欲報讀之學生先修讀FINE2056 (博物館學) 課程。

評估:100% 課程作業

先修科目:至少一個3000級及3個1000或2000級的藝術學系課程

MUSE2001
學分:6

此課程教授物質文化修復與保存的基礎知識。課程會介紹有關博物館及畫廊的藏品修復之歷史和發展,並先探討藏品的預防性保護及一般藏品護理。隨後的課程將聚焦於個別修復專科,包括書本及紙張;石材、金屬與陶瓷;以及繪畫。在著名的策展和修復專業人員指導下,學生將同時獲得理論與實踐知識。學生將在修讀課程期間內參觀香港大學校內及校外的修復實驗室、博物館及畫廊。

評估:100% 課程作業

先修科目:至少一個1000級的藝術學系或全球創意產業課程

MUSE2002
學分:6

此課程介紹藝術創作所使用的有機及無機物料。學生透過結合科學及人文的研究方法,以研究文物及其創作過程。個別課堂將探討藝術作品的物料結構,包括中國紙本水墨畫;金屬、陶瓷及玻璃製品;家具及漆器。學生將以物品為本及觀察物料的方法學來學習藝術作品的歷史。在修讀課程中,學生需仔細處理及分析物件,並會參觀與接觸香港大學修復實驗室及博物館的幕後工作。

評估:100% 課程作業

先修科目:至少一個1000級的藝術學系或全球創意產業課程

博物館職員會定期在香港大學及其他的香港教育類機構舉辦講座,並且參與眾多本地及國際研討會、圓桌會議與工作坊。

香港大學美術博物館為普通公羅大眾、家庭與學校,組織一系列導覽參觀及工作坊活動,旨在提升其藝術欣賞水平,並深化探討涉及藝術及文化領域的理論實踐課題的探討。博物館也會訓練在藝術保育、行政管理、配運與布佈展領域的專業同工。博物館的社區外展服務由香港大學博物館學會及至今獲得的十二項知識交流撥款計劃基金撥款資助,最近更於二零一四被授予了二零一四年知識交流獎。

香港大學美術博物館向藝術史領域的傑出青年學者提供實習與獎學金的機會。我們鼓勵藏品研究,及教育項目參與,致力持續於培育人才持續成長的博物館專業人才團隊。

有關實習與獎學金計劃詳情,請咨詢博物館傳訊主任,電郵:elenac@hku.hk ,電話:+852 2241 5512。預定團體參觀,及參加工作坊活動,請咨詢博物館活動助理,電郵:cchelsea@hku.hk,電話:+852 2241 5509。

地址:香港薄扶林般咸道90號 地圖顯示位置
電話: 2241 5500 傳真:(852) 2546 9659 電郵: museum@hku.hk
© 2018 香港大學美術博物館 版權所有